# 97. J. J Cale: Naturally

I was recommended this album by a co-worker and I am more than impressed by it. J. J has a smooth and imperfect voice that lends itself wonderfully to his songwriting. The only song I’d ever heard was “After Midnight” and it wasn’t Mr. Cale singing it.  I can now hear the immense influence he must have had on Eric Clapton as the similarities are striking. I’m particularly partial to the laid back vibes of most of these songs but tunes like “Woman I Have” and “Nowhere to Run” are welcome for their upbeat and full band approach. I thoroughly enjoyed every song on the album and it will be getting repeated listens in the near future.

Highlights: “Don’t Go to Strangers”  “Crazy Mama

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

